ONE YEAR WORK ANNIVERSARY

Standard

8846787c2446697585316bcea767d103

It’s finally here. I have finally worked for over one year and no, this blog is not my job unfortunately. Working on a night shift two hours from my home has been a trial, and the magnificence of that long journey is just the tip of the long adventure I underwent.

Working at a group home in a low income, virtually jobless state in the South came with a price. A price I had to pay. (I’m seriously going to move to another state when the money rakes in well enough) See, at my place of work, it’s staff versus mentally and emotionally stunted adults plus management. You see management never has your back. They don’t care if you pass out cold on the ground, especially if the clients wants another smoke (seriously, if you want them to become healthy…). I battled a creepy, molester witch, a fat ogre, a nicotine addicted dragon, and night’s long oppression. I have to wake a Sleeping Beauty every morning, had the assistance of a clueless pixie, help a maiden get from place to place, and for a good majority of  the year my only help came in the form of a pregnant medic. And paper work. I do paper work.

That was nothing compared to the dragons I faced in management. They storm the castle every once in a while breathing fire at the going ons of the castle. I had to stand up to them, but not to defend the villagers. Screw them. But to stand for my weekends off, the complaining about the paper work, and demanding of over time. I have yet to slay them, but I got a few strokes in. This epic hero has yet to fallen as his predecessors before him and he is determined to leave on his terms, nobody else. One year was a milestone. How long do I have to go?

Leave a Reply

